Vortex box drive change as faulty

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vortex box drive change as faulty

I have a Vortexbox from DMB servers who are no longer around, it is running 2.3 version. I am currently ripping CD's to it with DbPoweramp as I find it easier to use, I am a novice and a bit of a computer newbie. I know enough to get me in trouble. The hard drive is getting noisey and before it fails I have ordered a new one and will replace it. Can someone help me in that as the OS is done as an image file I assume it it stored on the same hard drive in a separate partition? I do not know how to access the server details to find out what the spec is or what is fully on the drive. I can see that there is more data stored on the hard rive than just the media files, approx 12 GB more? I can access the media files from Safari on my iMac and am using the vortex box GUI to back up all the data to a backup drive so can recover it.

So if I change th drive, can I mirror the whole hard drive so it carries across the Vortexbox and LMS / Bliss etc files or do I have to reinstall the 2.3 version again?

Does the V2.3 come with the links / LMS / Bliss files etc included or do there have to be put on separately?

The server is around 4 years old, don't know if it is 64 bit or not so assume I would be better with V2.3 off I had to reinstall it, but should I try V 2.4?

sorry for al the questions, as I say I am a novice and do not really understand Linux as well so any help would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Stewart
    Last edited by StewB; 01-19-2019, 07:18 PM.