Virtual Machines

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Virtual Machines

I just got my hands on a server box that was designed to run VMWare's ESXi. Does anyone run VB as a VM at home? What other VMs do you have running?

I'm thinking of creating a VB and some sort of NAS one but am looking for ideas at this point.

A number of users on this forum are using VMs. I have been running VortexBox in a VM for well over 12 months using VirtualBox.

Comment

I've been running VB as a virtual machine, hosted on a Linux server for over three years. I use libvirt which is the backend behind Virtual Machine Manager on Ubuntu. There was an initial installation problem with booting the VB iso. I don't recall exactly, but it involved being explicit about the disk type (I think I had to use a virtual SCSI and not the generic VDA). This df output shows you some of the device mappings, which should help if you use libvirt....

PHP Code:
      root@vortexbox starman  # df -h  Filesystem                            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on devtmpfs                              3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /dev tmpfs                                 3.9G  4.0K  3.9G   1% /dev/shm tmpfs                                 3.9G  496K  3.9G   1% /run tmpfs                                 3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup /dev/sda4                             3.5G  3.1G  136M  96% / tmpfs                                 3.9G     0  3.9G   0% /tmp /dev/sda2                             283M   76M  189M  29% /boot 192.168.1.1:/mypool/music           679G  150G  530G  23% /storage/music 192.168.1.1:/mypool/movies          1.8T  1.3T  530G  72% /storage/movies 192.168.1.1:/mypool/tvshows         693G  164G  530G  24% /storage/tvshows tmpfs                                 799M     0  799M   0% /run/user/1000 
      Last edited by tkforbes; 04-03-2018, 06:41 AM.

Comment

VMWare's ESXi is great. I use it a lot here. We even provide an a prebuilt ESXi image for you to use.

Comment